San Jose Hotel in Austin on South Congress …Hip Place To Stay

On a recent trip to San Antonio I stopped on the way home and spent a little time in Austin.  I have always wanted to stay at the San Jose Hotel on South Congress.  My hubby arranged my stay it was very retro cool. This is a photo from the outside.

The Retro front sign on Congress… this hotel was built in 1939.  It has been redone in an urban bungalow  retro feel…which is so up my alley!

On busy hip South Congress Street the parking is limited to the street and is always packed .  It was great to have private parking at the hotel and just walk everywhere!

The small lobby features cool retro posters .  It has a cool bar that leads to the outdoor lounge and pool.

There are little gateways that lead to the different courtyards and to the rooms… it was like walking into someone’s backyard.

This was the courtyard outside of my suite…so charming I loved it.  It was very calming.

My suite was number 32 looks like your walking into an apartment.

Here was my retro living area…loved it!

Loved everything about this room…especially the green sliding door to the bathroom!

Greeted with a bottle of Rainwater made in Austin from purified rain water green all the way!

a little breeze way that led to the pool and lounge area…

The cozy pool is more an area to cool off  sit out with a book and enjoy a cool drink which I did!  In the evening the place fills with people sipping drinks and listening to music very hip, and laid back.  And it draws a crowd every night of the week!

Here is a shot of the outside lounge by the late afternoon the place starts getting busy .

Just a little side note ,but I had never seen black bamboo I thought it was cool…

I thought the outside of this room was pretty loved the charming window!

Here I am with my cousins…they came by to meet me and we went out and had a lot of fun, visiting , laughing being loud and telling stories…always fun to catch up with family and just hang out…these girls can make me laugh so much we had fun!  Well stay tuned for more of my Austin visit coming soon!  And if you are looking for a cool hip place to stay try the San Jose Hotel!

 

 

 

 

 

About Michele Busch

Jewelry Designer
This entry was posted in Personal Happenings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to San Jose Hotel in Austin on South Congress …Hip Place To Stay

  1. Susanne says:

    what a cool place! i love it all!

Leave a Reply

