The Doctor Is In…The Cake Doctor that is…

The Cake Doctor Bakes Gluten-Free…easy-fun-delish-gluten-free recipes!

author Ann Byrn came to The Real Bookstore in Fairview for a book signing and demo.  It was nice to hear her story of how she began her cookbook series. She got to go to Julia Childs home and Julia cooked her dinner now that is cool…she said at one time she was a food snob…then she started having children and it all changed!  She got a chuckle…but as your family grows your time does shrink!  And everyone wants to people please but if you can take a shortcut here and there all the better.

here I am front row and center…we got there early and I was happy I did because when the demo started all seats were taken.  Ann told us her background, how she started writing her books and opened it up for questions and discussion …I asked a few…she asked if we follow any gluten-free blogs I said I like www.tastyeatsathome.com  Someone else said oh I’ve heard of that blog.  Support our local gluten-free bloggers Alta has some great recipes check her out.

a local gluten-free bakery baked her recipe for gluten-free peanut butter cookies and lemon bars…they were amazing the best lemon bars Iv’e had…some lemon bars can be too sweet and too gooey these were a perfect balance of sweet and tart…I can’t wait to bake them.  Peanut butter cookies are probably my favorite cookie and these were great pass the milk!  Wholesome Foods Bakery bakery is in Dallas the address is 718 N. Buckner Blvd #154. www.wholesomefoodsbakery.com (I will be checking it out stay tuned for a full report)

Ann signs my book she said sounds like you are really into gluten -free baking … what made you start baking gluten-free.. I explained why I started eating gluten-free and told her I blog some of my recipes along with my jewelry…She told me about some girls in Nashville that blog a recipe of the week and fashion.  She blogs too of course her website is www.cakemixdoctor.com

She was so sweet…my husband took a picture of us . She is working on a new book easy recipes gluten-free…she said since the writing of her book and going on her book tour she has learned so much more about gluten-free eating and heard so many interesting stories from people who are gluten-free.  Ann we all look forward to your new book…but in the meantime I’m going to start baking my way through this one!

About Michele Busch

Jewelry Designer
This entry was posted in Current Events, Food Fabulous Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Doctor Is In…The Cake Doctor that is…

  1. tastyeatsathome says:

    Ooh, Michele, thanks for mentioning me! I’m sad I missed that she was going to be doing a signing in Fairview – that’s so close to me. I reviewed her book not long ago.

  2. I know I told my husband maybe Alta will be here and I will get to meet her. I told the group you were local and you had a recipe published in a book and that your blog is great, and one lady said I’ve heard of that blog , Ann , repeated it for all to hear so they can check you out too!

  3. Susanne says:

    what a fun day you had! can’t wait for you to post some more of your recipes. i love your strawberry cake!

Leave a Reply

