Say Cheese…

ingredients for my 1st gluten-free lasagna… I used shredded mozzarella, ricotta and parmigiano reggiano cheeses… 1 egg… lean ground beef and mild italian sausage…finely chopped yellow bell pepper, garlic, white mushrooms , onion, and fresh spinach. The pasta was De Boles Rice pasta lasagna noodles (no boiling oven ready) which is great to cut out the whole boiling the noodles step! For sauce I used  1 can roasted crushed tomatoes, 1sm. can tomato sauce and the rest of some pasta sauce I had left over, bout 1 cup ” Mezzetta brand” Arrabbiata which is a spicy sauce. I browned the meat about 1 pd. altogether seasoned with sea salt to taste and 1/2 t. italian spice, set meat aside, into the same pan added 1 t. olive oil and sauteed 3 minced garlic cloves, 1/4 c. onion, 4 -5 mushrooms, 1/4 c. yellow bell pepper, remove from pan add this mixture to meat, saute 1/2 c. chopped spinach just till soft, add to ricotta cheese , beat 1 egg add to ricotta. To pan add your sauce to coat bottom line with 1st layer of noodles, then spread the ricotta mixture, meat , sauce and mozzarella, repeat 3 layers to 4 depending on depth of your pan. Since these are no boil noodles make sure to cover last layer of noodles with sauce and mozzarella with 1/4 c. parmigiano on the very top.  Bake 350 covered for 50 mins then uncover and bake an additional 10 mins or until cheese on top is bubbly and delish ready! enjoy…

my finished product… it was yum!  I asked my husband if he could tell the difference in the noodles he said no it taste like regular lasagna noodles!  And I felt the same I could not tell the difference.

we ate half the pan…tomorrows dinner ?  the other half of course!!

now on to dessert…you didn’t think just because I made cheese laden lasagna I would stop there did you?? Okay you have got to make this cake…it is a must trust me! I found this recipe on “gluten-free mommy” check out the blog.  This is her Strawberry Cake… wonderful… with homemade cream cheese frosting recipe with cake recipe. Look it up and bake it!

the strawberry flavor of this cake with the cream cheese frosting is sooo good!  And it’s really pretty isn’t it??

About Michele Busch

Jewelry Designer
This entry was posted in Food Fabulous Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

